Facts About the NBA

The National Basketball Association is a professional basketball league in the United States that features thirty teams. It is the premier men’s professional basketball league in the world. The league is comprised of the best players in the world and is one of the four major professional sports in the United States. It was formed in 1946 and is the oldest continuously running sport in the country. However, not everyone knows much about the NBA. Here are some facts about the NBA.


The NBA currently consists of thirty teams, split into two conferences and three divisions of five teams each. The current divisional alignment was introduced in the 2004-05 season. Almost all of the league’s teams are located in the eastern half of the United States, with thirteen teams located in the Eastern Time Zone, nine in the Central Time Zone, and three in the Mountain Time Zone. Some franchises have moved several times throughout the decades, most notably from the National Basketball League to the NBA.

In 1950, the NBA had seventeen franchises. In 1953-54, there were eight teams in each conference, and in 1954 the league was down to just eight. Today, only eight teams remain in the NBA, and most were relocated to bigger cities. The Tri-Cities Blackhawks, for example, moved to Milwaukee and the St. Louis Pistons moved to Philadelphia. The Los Angeles Lakers moved to San Francisco in 1957.

The league’s regular season begins in October and ends in early April. Each team plays 82 games and competes in both the division and outside to qualify for the playoffs. There are eight spots in the playoffs after the regular season, and the winners of each group win the title. The other teams can also qualify as wildcards if they have a winning record during the regular season. The NBA is a major league sport, and it attracts fans from all over the world.

The NBA merged with the BAA league in 1949, forming two divisions with five teams in each. The new divisional structure was first implemented in the 2004-05 season. The league is still a major league in the United States, with the majority of its teams located in the eastern half. While there are no divisions in the western part of the country, most of its teams are based in the Eastern Time Zone.

The NBA has thirty teams, and is organized into two conferences and three divisions. The league’s current divisional structure was first introduced in the 2004-05 season. The majority of teams are located in the eastern half of the country. The league has thirteen teams in the Eastern Time Zone and nine in the Central Time Zone. The West Coast has three teams. The NBA is the most popular professional sports league in the world. The NBA is divided into conferences in the Western Conference.