How the NBA Works


Despite the efforts of NBA Commissioner Adam Silver and other officials to reduce back-to-back games, improve travel and encourage teams to rest their star players, the reality is that most top players aren’t able to play an entire 82-game season. This is a major issue that has plagued the NBA for years, with fans wondering why stars such as LeBron James and Kawhi Leonard sit so often. The truth is that these players need to listen to their bodies and doctors, which can be a challenge when it comes to the demands of the game and the pressure to perform.

The nba was founded in 1946 and has grown to become one of the most popular sports in the world. The league has a rich history that includes iconic players such as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Magic Johnson, Kobe Bryant, Shaquille O’Neal and Pete Maravich. During this time, the nba has seen its fair share of challenges, including declining TV ratings, low attendance and drug-related issues among players.

In the nba, there are 30 teams that compete in two conferences. Each team plays all other teams in its conference four times, twice at home and once on the road. The top five teams in each division qualify for the playoffs. In the NBA Finals, the top teams in each conference compete against each other under a best-of-seven format and the home-court advantage rule.

Each team is allotted a certain number of fouls during the course of a game. Once a team exceeds this amount, they are “in the bonus,” which allows the opposing team to take free throws after each additional foul committed by the team in question. The opposing team can also rebound the errant foul shot and claim possession.

Nba rules state that only five players can be on the court at one time. However, there are many substitutions that occur during a game and it is not unusual for a team to have seven or more players on the bench. During the early years of the nba, teams were not allowed to substitute more than once, but this restriction was removed in 1920. In addition, coaches were not allowed to address the players during a game until 1949.

In order to encourage shooting and discourage stalling, the nba introduced a 24-second shot clock in 1954. The clock is shown by a countdown that usually appears above the hoop. The countdown starts when a team gains the ball and stops when the ball has been in its opponents’ hands for 24 seconds. If a team does not shoot within this period, they must forfeit the ball to their opponent. The nba was the first sport to use this type of clock and now most U.S. high schools and some international high school programs use it for their boys’ and girls’ basketball teams. FIBA also uses the 24-second shot clock in women’s competitions. The nba’s current six divisional format was introduced in 2004-05.