What Is the NBA?


The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the third richest professional sports league in North America. It is currently composed of 30 teams, which play a total of 82 games each season, divided into two conferences: the Western Conference and the Eastern Conference. During the regular season, each team will play against another conference twice a year and against other teams from their division four times a season. This is followed by the playoffs. Each team will play two games against each opponent during the playoffs.

The NBA has adopted a number of new rules in its history, including the three-point line, which was introduced in 1979. It also added a 24-second shot clock, which prevents teams from running the clock late. Teams are also allowed to have 12 players on the court at any one time.

Players are paid on a salary cap, which is a limit on how much revenue a team can earn. Revenue is shared between the teams. The team with the most revenue receives the most revenue, while the team with the least is given a certain amount. As a result, the league has become a multi-billion dollar organization.

The NBA also shares non-basketball related revenue. For example, the Boston Celtics have the most all-time winning percentage. Additionally, it has one of the largest social media communities in the world. There are over 2.1 billion followers worldwide. In addition, the NBA works with youth and family development programs. It has also partnered with international organizations on issues of health and education.

After the regular season, the best teams in the league engage in the playoffs to determine the NBA champion. These teams will play a series of best-of-seven games. Those winners will be crowned NBA champions and will receive championship rings. Other teams can be selected as wildcards, which can also qualify for the playoffs. Some of the highest-paid players are on these teams.

The league was initially founded as the Basketball Association of America, or BAA, in 1946. On August 3, 1949, the BAA merged with the National Basketball League, or NBL. Later, the BAA became the NBA. Previously, there were seventeen franchises in the NBA. However, six of the franchises moved to larger cities and eight franchises remain today.

Throughout the decade, there have been a number of high-profile stars. Among them are Artis Gilmore, Dave Cowens, and Moses Malone. Others include Elvin Hayes and Pete Maravich. LeBron James, who is currently with the Miami Heat, was a big name in the 1990s. He eventually moved to the Los Angeles Lakers.

The NBA has a number of awards to honor the best players and coaches. One of these is the Sporting News’ Most Valuable Player Award. Another is the Defensive Player of the Year. A sixth man of the year award is also given to the player who had the best performance off the bench. The MVP is awarded to the player who performs the best in the NBA Finals.